A Glimpse into My Journey

One step at a time.

bReady or not…

I’ve mentioned that I enjoy baking, but I’ve never dedicated a blog post to the topic, so I decided to do so today.

My interest in creating food began when my grandma asked me as a kid to hold the hand mixer to create the batter for her steamed cake recipe.  Let me just say, it was quite an arm workout!  She told me to keep it running for a good 15 minutes, which felt like eternity, but watching the delicate ribbon-like texture forming made it worth it. 🍰

The first time I baked cupcakes, it was quite disastrous.  I didn’t know I had to soften the butter before mixing it with the hand mixer, so I ended up with rock-like pieces scattered throughout the random plastic bucket I had found in the kitchen.  (My only experience in baking before this was with the Nestle Toll House prepackaged refrigerated cookie dough from Safeway.)  The cupcakes tasted fine, but I hated the process of scooping bits of batter into 24 tiny paper liners.  So much so, that it wasn’t until years later that I baked my second batch of cupcakes.

I started baking more frequently in middle school, after purchasing a stand mixer at Target on Black Friday, and that’s when I absolutely fell in love with the process.  Something about seeing raw cookie dough transforming into golden brown chocolate chip cookies is so magical and satisfying (also in the literal sense).

IMG_4802

However, for years I baked exclusively cookies.  Then, I slowly graduated into quick breads. 🎓

IMG_2539

For quite some time, I still stuck with cookies, quick breads, muffins, and the rare donut. Clearly, I was afraid to bake with yeast.  I was afraid of failure.  I was afraid of trying something new, although I loved baking “new” variations of cookies or quick breads.  I also only followed other people’s recipes, never intending on creating my own.  It wasn’t until recently that I started baking with yeast more often, telling myself, “What’s the worst that can happen?  I would just end up with shitty bread.”

Today, I followed this recipe for garlic herb breadsticks, reminiscent of the never-ending Olive Garden appetizers.  It called for three cloves of crushed garlic, but ain’t nobody got time for that, so I used garlic powder instead. 😁

IMG_9488

As you can tell, they didn’t come out looking quite like breadsticks, but they nonetheless filled the house with a lovely Italian herb aroma even better than the Olive Garden version, I dare say.  And can we take a moment to appreciate the fluffiness??  Mounds of fluffy, doughy, savory goodness in every bite. 🍞  What more can you ask for?

Baking with yeast wasn’t so bad after all.  It takes a bit more time, but it’s all worth it.  At least I didn’t end up with shitty bread.  This time. 😉

“If it scares you, it might be a good thing to try.” – Seth Godin


Question: What are your experiences with baking or cooking?  Love it?  Hate it?

10 comments on “bReady or not…

  1. calmkate
    June 15, 2017

    those breads look really yummy … I used to bake bread in a wood oven many moons ago .. had to bake two each time, one for me and one for the freeloaders who dropped by to sample when they smelt the aroma 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • fluffysteps
      June 15, 2017

      Baking in a wood oven sounds divine! I would be one of your freeloaders, too. 😉 My current “freeloaders” are just my family.

      Liked by 1 person

      • calmkate
        June 15, 2017

        the joke was that I lived well out of town in the outback, but they all knew I baked Saturday so we’d see the dust clouds coming up the driveway as they arrived 🙂
        When you live in remote areas your rituals get very creative 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • fluffysteps
        June 16, 2017

        You must have been so popular! Sounds like some fun times. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • calmkate
        June 16, 2017

        absolutely love the outback and locals, just little employment there 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • fluffysteps
        June 16, 2017

        Life involves many tradeoffs. At least you had a taste of the culture there!

        Liked by 1 person

      • calmkate
        June 16, 2017

        it will stay with me always 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • fluffysteps
        June 16, 2017

        The memories will always be inside us. 💝

        Liked by 1 person

  2. They look so delicious. Can you please send me some? 😉 I haven’t​tried baking but I love the smell of freshly baked bread . It smells heavenly 😇

    Liked by 1 person

    • fluffysteps
      June 16, 2017

      If I could, I would! Too bad technology isn’t so advanced, to the point where I could just click a “send” button and send food to you. 😛
      I love the smell of fresh bread, too! I still remember walking by this bakery with my mom as a kid and always being so tempted to buy at least a hunk of French bread as we made our way to school. Then I would secretly eat it in class. 😜

      Like

Leave a Reply

