A Glimpse into My Journey

One step at a time.

I’ll meet you in my dreams

img_1641

Every sunrise has a sunset.

Every book has an end.

 

When you pressed that golden Sambuca tattoo on her neck,

I couldn’t help but feel like a reject.

 

The way you laugh along with her bubbly personality

makes me wonder why I can’t also be that silly.

 

She showed you pictures of her furry black cat,

and you complimented her violet hair instead.

 

I sometimes forget about your new fiancée and her boyfriend.

Is it wishful thinking to pray the sight of you will never end?

 

When your warm hands held mine and you drew that smiley face with your dorky pink pen,

my heart skipped two beats and out of my chest.

 

You playfully flicked my ponytail as you strolled along your way,

leaving me falsely hopeful we both might stay.

 

If fate allows, perhaps I’ll see you again.

But I’ll meet you in my dreams, until then.

5 comments on “I’ll meet you in my dreams

  1. multitudeofmythoughts
    January 2, 2017

    You know sometimes it is better to have such people only in our dreams,because in reality they always end up breaking hearts!:)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Mabel Kwong
    January 3, 2017

    Awwww. Such a sad poem, but it is so beautifully, emotionally and articulately written. The vivid descriptions are just that – observant and articulate. I think all of us who has fancied someone who turned the other way can relate. You wonder why they chose that somebody else – are they better than you, did you screw up, or was it simply not meant to be. When you see them laugh together sometimes it is a terrible feeling you get…because nothing connects two people together like sharing the same humour and the same kind of weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fluffysteps
      January 7, 2017

      I’m so glad you understand and can relate. I try to remain positive and remind myself that everything happens for a reason. If we’re meant to be with someone, time will bring us back together. Thank you for your thoughtful comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. athling2001
    January 6, 2017

    Wouldn’t that be great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

