A Glimpse into My Journey

One step at a time.

Blogger Recognition Award!

Hello everyone!

I’m so grateful that I’ve been nominated for a Blogger Recognition Award by writeshefali.  Thank you so much!  I really appreciate it.

blogger recog award

Blogging Journey

It’s only been a month and a half since I started this blog.  When I first started, I didn’t think anyone would read it.  I wasn’t sure what exactly I wanted to share with the blogging world, but I wanted to create some sort of content and practice using the creative side of me.

I graduated from college a year ago, and I am uncertain what career I want to pursue.  I was never one of those kids that knew when they were in 5th grade they wanted to become an engineer or a lawyer.  I wasn’t bad at any subject in school, but I didn’t love any one topic either.  Everything to me was just… okay.  I began college thinking I would enter the business field because so many of my family members were in it, but I finished college as a pre-med instead.  I had completed all of the pre-med pre-requisites, but I still didn’t feel that burning desire inside of me to go to medical school.  For a year after graduation, I questioned myself nearly every day, “Do I really want to follow this path?  Is there something else out there for me?”

One thing I do love to do is bake.  I know there is actually a lot of science behind baking (and cooking), but to me, baking has always seemed so… magical.  It was actually all of the baking blogs I read for recipes that gave me some inspiration to start my own blog.  Initially, I thought I would just post all the food pictures I took here, but I’ve also enjoyed writing poems and sharing my thoughts with everyone.  The last time I wrote a poem for a class was in 9th grade, and I actually ended up as a finalist for a poetry contest!  I was really surprised.  Lesson: If you give yourself a chance, anything can happen.

When I told my family and friends I wanted to have a job that I would look forward to every day because I would love it so much, they simply told me, “A job is a job.  Jobs aren’t meant to be fun.”  I hope someday I can prove them wrong.

I’ve neglected using the creative side of me for so long.  I’ve become so tired of studying and memorizing and taking exams and repeating that process over and over again, so one day I decided to finally start a blog.  Why not?  I have nothing to lose.

Advice for Bloggers

  • It will take time to find your niche.  That’s okay.  Take it one step at a time.  (I’m still finding mine.)
  • The best posts are the ones that are the most genuine.
  • When you’re stuck and don’t know what to write about, read other blogs.  You will be inspired.
  • You don’t need to be able to write like a novelist to have a blog.  You will develop your own style and tell your own story.
  • Quality > quantity.  Posts don’t necessarily need to be long to be meaningful.  If you can’t think of the words to say, a picture will suffice too.  “A picture is worth a thousand words.”

My Nominations

I will nominate them personally on their blogs. 🙂

Rules for participating in Blogger recognition award

Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.  Write a post to show your award.  Attach the award to the post.  Give a brief story of how your blog started.  Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers.  Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.  Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them & provide a link to the award post you created.

Thanks for reading, and have a wonderful day!

7 comments on “Blogger Recognition Award!

  1. pins & ashes
    June 19, 2016

    You Bake.. wow.. I love to bake. 🙂 good to know..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rubyr8
    June 19, 2016

    Thanks for the nomination Joanne 😀 .
    …and yes you will find that job that screams you. A job that will span one’s lifespan should be looked forward to, not dreaded.
    I took my time and I’m glad I did, take your time searching and you’ll definitely find it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. writeshefali
    June 19, 2016

    Baking ??? Something new I learned about you. Congo…nice advice keep doing what your heart wants 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • fluffysteps
      June 20, 2016

      Thanks for your encouragement and for always taking the time to read and comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2016 by in appreciation, award, blogging, recognition, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , .
