A Glimpse into My Journey

One step at a time.

Appreciation

IMG_1786

For four days, I was without a laptop.  I had to leave it at the store for the battery to be replaced.  During those four days, I used my phone.  A lot.  I learned a few things from this.

I learned that we tend to not appreciate the things we have until we don’t have them anymore.  Every time I texted or typed an email, it felt like years.  I had never missed my keyboard so much.

I think my vision got worse over those several days because I couldn’t relax my eyes when I was watching YouTube videos on a 4″ screen for the whole day.

In a way, not having my laptop felt freeing.  The Internet always gave me something to keep me busy.  Without it, I had to find other activities to pass the time.

More importantly, I began to better appreciate the people around me.  You never know when someone will no longer be there.  Seven years ago, my grandfather passed away.  It still feels like yesterday that he was urging my brothers and me to become doctors, even though we refused each time he brought the subject up.

Be kind to those around you.  Treat people as if you don’t know whether you’ll still have the chance to see them the next day.

Don’t take things for granted.  Appreciate all that you have.

2 comments on “Appreciation

  1. writeshefali
    June 8, 2016

    Nice message …We probably should have a law of gadget free days in a month then I guess then we will come out of our virtual world 😉 Even I am addicted to my laptop :)…

    Liked by 1 person

    • fluffysteps
      June 8, 2016

      Haha, we should! Technology can be so addicting, sometimes we don’t even realize it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2016 by in appreciation, gratitude, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
