A Glimpse into My Journey

One step at a time.

Sing this song for you

Sing

IMG_8829

Ever since I was a little kid, I loved to sing.  I sang in front of my family, relatives, and strangers without a second thought.  In elementary school, I joined the choir.  Singing has always remained one of those hobbies I never got tired of.

After a long day, the one thing I love to do to de-stress is listen to music and sing along.  It has become such an effortless way to relax.

I sing when I walk to the bus stop.  I try to hum along when I brush my teeth.  As cliche as it sounds, I love singing in the shower.  Sometimes I’ll dance along, too.

One of my favorite shows was American Idol.  I stopped watching when Simon Cowell left, but it was such an emotional moment to watch the very last finale this year, as the show came to an end.

There’s something about singing and listening to music that doesn’t become tiring, even if I’ve heard the song a million times.  Music can trigger as well as form so many memories.  It can be soothing, and it can be stimulating.

I’ve wondered if I could someday write a song.  Why not start today?  Here goes.

 

Childhood memories.

Innocently laughing.

Holding hands close.

Schooldays passing by,

staring into his eyes.

Wide smiles, white lies.

If only I had the courage to say

I could spend my every day

with you, there’s no other way

Where would we be today?

But things changed.

You moved out of the golden state

without a kiss of goodbye.

The song still pierces my heart,

but I still sing the part,

the part that brings me back to you,

you and your delicate smile.

I sing this song for you.

 

 

6 comments on “Sing this song for you

  1. Ngobesing Romanus
    May 22, 2016

    “There’s something about singing and listening to music that doesn’t become tiring, even if I’ve heard the song a million times. Music can trigger as well as form so many memories. It can be soothing, and it can be stimulating.” Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. writeshefali
    May 22, 2016

    I love music too.. Though not a singer but I love listening to music and remember the lyrics so that I can sing along with the song… Music is actually my forever best friend 🙂 So keep the music on n writing songs.. Nice post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • fluffysteps
      May 23, 2016

      I think I would consider music one of my greatest friends too. That’s a nice way to put it. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. pagetostagechicago
    May 23, 2016

    Nice! Music can be so nostalgic and take you back in time, totally agree. I like that you incorporated memory in your post and your song. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fluffysteps
      May 24, 2016

      It happens to me every day! Thanks for stopping by. Appreciate the comment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2016 by in Daily Prompts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
